St. James Lay Leadership – 2024

St. James United Methodist Church is governed according the denomination's prescribed structure found in the *United Methodist Book of Discipline*. Below is a brief description of the standing committees and the individuals who are serving.

Church Council – in order to provide oversight an leadership throughout the year, the Church Council serves as our church's executive governing body, monitoring ministry progress and voting on strategic matters. The Council's primary duties include setting strategic direction for the church, overseeing the church governance and administration, and ensuring that our ministries are accomplishing the church's purpose, mission, and values.

2024 Chairperson is Mary Lu Fowler		Vice-Chair is Michael Miller				
Committee Members are:						
Laura Almond	Bob Bloom	Gavin Ballard	Linda Barnes			
Cameron Carlisle	Rev. Ben Crismon	Andrea Dobson	Gene Fortson			
Mary Lu Fowler	Debby Fiser	Bill McCrary	Michael Miller			
Christian O'Neal	Jean Parham	Emily Perrone	Don Riggin			
Rev. Jessica Durand	Rev. Greg Schick	Jeff Yates				

Staff Parish Relations Committee – governs policy for staff and clergy. The committee sets employment policy, guides the priorities of the pastoral and executive staff team, maintains oversight over personnel issues, and works to ensure that St. James is a fulfilling place to work. Members of this committee cannot be related to St. James staff members.

2024 Chairperson is Bob Bloom		Vice Chair is Drew Simon			
Committee Members are:					
Bob Bailey	Nan Black	Bob Bloom	Sammie Dunkum		
Debby Fiser	Mark Mayo	Debi Piercy	Steve Routon		
Drew Simon	Shelly Tucker	Darrick Wilson	Rev. Ben Crismon		

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is charged with the care and maintenance of church property and holds the title to the church's property, buildings, and equipment. Trustees must be a least eighteen years of age. Key items include establishing policies and practices regard maintenance, equipment, building use, Safe Gatherings, insurance, disaster planning, land acquisition and construction planning.

2024 Chairperson is Jeff Yates Board members are:					
Brian Dale	Donna Goss	Judy Jacobs	Blake James		
Laura Johnson	Robin Mickel	Andrea Newton	Richard Phelps		
Jeff Yates					

Finance and Stewardship Committee develops and administers a coordinated plan of fiscal and administrative polices and procedures for the church. It oversees financial health, the annual audit, provides financial direction; organizes the annual stewardship program, and communicates the church's financial condition to the Church Council.

2024 Chairperson is Laura Almond Committee Members are: Laura Almond Ashley Carper Don Cole Max Davis John Fowler, III Nicole Gore Phillip Jett Jeff Johnson Rev. Ben Crismon Rev. Jessica Durand Andy LaGrone Rev. Greg Schick Debby Fiser Sue Frank Jeff Yates Teddy Stewart Bob Bloom Gene Fortson

Committee on Nominations and Lay Development oversees the identification, development and care for the volunteer leaders at St. James. Key initiatives include preparing the annual nomination late and providing oversight of volunteer service and leadership develop at church.

Chairperson: Rev. Ben CrismonCommittee Members are:Pam GadberryRaydodd HesterPat McAlpineSonya MurphyBo PlylerSusie RosenthalBill WaddellDarrick Wilson

The five committees above represent the five required committees that each local congregation must have according to the *Book of Discipline*. In addition to these committees, St. James has the following committees that support various administrative and ministry programs. For more information on these committees please contact the church office 501-217-6700.

Endowment Committee Columbarium Committee Kids LIFE Administrative Committee Learning Center Administrative Committee Fiser-Christie Lectureship Task Force Senior Adult Ministries Task Force